Anokhi DIY / Anokhi Today / Breaking / News & Sports / World / Punjabi Stars Slug It Out With Box Cricket League Punjab 2016

Punjabi Stars Slug It Out With Box Cricket League Punjab 2016

Anokhi DIY Anokhi Today Breaking News & Sports World May 28, 2016

Box Cricket League Punjab kicks off today, and the unisex sports reality show will feature over 70 familiar Punjabi faces.

Cities Jalandhar, Chandigarh, Ludhiana, Patialvi and Amritstar will be represented over the next six weeks as five teams battle it out on North India's biggest sports entertainment show.

You'll be able to watch and support over 70 of your favourite Punjabi celebs from television, film and music.

Watch them duke it out and misbehave — and get an inside scoop on how they're feeling!

Photo Credit:

BCL creator and Bollywood director Sumit Dutt said, “Since it is a reality show, the celebrity players will have microphones attached to them while they play. So whatever they say, how they speak and behave will be out in the public.”

Dutt is extremely passionate about combining India's loves for cricket and celebrities.

BCL Punjab is a platform for the global Punjabis," said Dutt. "Our aim is to bring together big names of the industry which will be an absolute treat for the Punjabi viewers.”

Photo Credit:

BCL will be Punjab’s first-ever unisex celebrity cricket show. The women will play with the men. Each of the five teams will consist of three women and nine men, and the teams will include athletes from India, Canada, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

You'll be able to pick your favourite team from among the Chandigarhiye Yankies, the Ludhianvi Tigers, the Royal Patialvi, the Ambersariye Hawks and the Jalandhar Panthers.

The Jalandhar Panthers are owned by Geeta Basra, Indian bowling legend Harbhajan Singh's wife. Punjabi actor and singer Navraj Hans will be leading the pack. The team will also include Master Saleem, Jaz Dhami, Riya Desai and Mansi Sharma.

Photo Credit:

Sonu Sood is the owner of the Ludhianvi Tigers. He chose Vikramjeet Virk as team captain.

Sood's main aim for BCL is gender equality. Alokk Narula, Ankit Modgil, Jaswir Kaur and Reyhna Malhotra are some of the names that help complete the team.

Photo Credit:

The Ambersariye Hawks are co-owned by Karan Wahi and Bharti Singh. Indian TV actor Suyyash Rai will be team captain. Rai will have the support of Abhishek Kapoor, Shaleen Malhotra, Karan Wahi and Asha Negi.

Photo Credit:

Bollywood actress Ameesha Patel owns the Royal Patialvi, and Gavvie Chahal will captain the team. Sharry Maan, Inderjeet Nikku, Preet Harpal and Poonam Pandey are part of the team as well. 

Photo Credit:

"President Of Bhangra" Jazzy B owns the Chandigarhiye Yankies. This team will feature Jassi Gill, JSL Singh and Sukh-E and be captained by Kunal Pant.

Photo Credit:

The BCL tournament will broadcast on PTC Punjabi, PTC Chakde and 9x Tashan — and the action doesn't stop until July 9, 2016.

For more information about the Box Cricket League, check out go their website here.

Main Image Photo Credit:

Nomaan Khan

Nomaan Khan


After spending some time in a completely different field, Nomaan decided to drop it all and switch to Mohawk College to pursue his longtime interest in the world of Journalism. His experience working in multimedia platforms has helped him develop exceptional skills in thinking on his ...


Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to our FREE newsletter for all of the latest news, articles, and videos delivered directly to your inbox each day!